Monday 8:30AM - 4:00PM
Monday 8:30AM - 4:00PM
Effective December 28, 2020, the Town Clerk’s Office will be requiring appointments for all in-person business.
We would like to remind residents that most matters can be handled by mail and/or email.
We are making every effort to protect the health of our staff and residents and minimize the spread of the coronavirus.
Thank you for your cooperation and understanding.
2021 Property Tax Bill Collection
To pay your bill in person you will need to call for an appointment: 518-235-8282
Office hours are Mon-Fri 8:30am to 4:00 pm.
8:30am to 4:00pm Mon-Fri for check payments only. Absolutely no cash.
We are making every effort to protect the health of our staff and residents and minimize the spread of the coronavirus while adhering to Real Property Tax Law. Thank you for cooperation and understanding during this unprecedented time.
- Proof of Identification: Current Drivers License or Non-Driver ID Card AND a sealed copy of original birth certificate
- If divorced, copy of all of your your original divorce papers, sealed or stamped.
- You will need to know your social security number, and mothers maiden name.
- It is recommended but not necessary that you have already chosen the last name you wish to be known as legally. This saves time and arguments at the counter!
- There is a $40 fee for the license.
FACTS YOU SHOULD KNOW:
You need to make an appointment with the Town Clerk's Office for the license, call 235-8282
There is a twenty four (24) hour waiting period from the time we issue your license until the time you may get married. For example; if you receive your license at 10:00 A.M. today, you may be married at 10:01 A.M. tomorrow.
Your license is good for 60 days from the day you receive it. This is called the solemnization period.
There is no longer a blood test requirement.
The appointment for the license should take 30 minutes.
How to apply for parking permit or license plates for persons with severe disabilities.
New York State requires that all dogs over the age of 4 months be licensed. The Town Clerk's Office issues dog licenses under the authority of the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets.
Apply for a dog license in person at the Waterford Town Clerk's Office, 65 Broad Street Waterford, NY 12188 At the Time of Licensing The Owner Will Need: If the dog is spayed or neutered – Proof from the veterinarian showing that the dog has been spayed or neutered. Proof of ownership - usually in the form of a veterinary bill / medical statement All dogs four months or older must have proof of a rabies vaccination signed by a licensed veterinarian or a certificate stating why the life of the dog would be endangered by the vaccine
The Town of Waterford issues dog licenses valid for 2(two) years. When the license requirements have been met each dog is assigned a permanent identification number and metal ID tag which is to be attached to the dog’s collar.
LICENSE FEES for the Town of Waterford: Spayed/neutered: $20 Unspayed/unneutered: $46
Senior fishing licenses are $5.00. The regular fishing licenses are $25.00. Other conservation license fees may be obtained by calling the Town Clerk’s office at 235-8282.
SOLICITORS PERMITS AND LICENSES:
Applications are available at the Town Clerk’s office. There is generally a one week waiting period from application to license due to the fact that all solicitors permit applications are checked through the Waterford Police Department before issuance. The fee for solicitors permit is $50.00 for the Town, $50.00 for the Village, and $100.00 for both the Town and Village. Click here to access the Solicitors Permit.
There is a burning permit application available at the Town Clerk’s office. There are specific conditions that must be met to have an open fire in the Town of Waterford. (There is no burning in the Village of Waterford.) The application must be filled out and returned to the Waterford Police Department, who in turn will notify the Fire Inspector of the application. The Fire Inspector will then issue the permit if he deems it necessary and impose any conditions he deems appropriate for the burn. This permit will be good for one day only and a copy of said permit will be given to the Police Department. Applications MUST be received at least seven days prior to the requested date of the burn to be considered. All burning permit conditions must be strictly adhered to and all laws followed.
CERTIFICATES OF RESIDENCY:
You must be a current resident of Waterford & have lived at the same address for at least one year in order for the Town Clerk to issue.
Proof required for Certificate of Residency:
*Document dated at least one year ago but not more than 18 months showing name, date and current Waterford address.
*Document dated within the last 30 days showing name, date and current Waterford address.
Students that have moved within the past year must obtain certificate at the County Treasurer’s Office. Phone 518-884-4724
Saratoga County Treasurer’s Office
Municipal Center – Bldg #1
40 McMaster St.
Ballston Spa NY 12020
*Students who are not citizens of the United States applying for their FIRST Certificate of Residency must apply in the County Treasurer’s Office.
Foreign-born students will be asked to provide a Visa, Permanent Resident Card or immigration papers indicating permanent resident status
*Students must know their social security number (card not required)
*If the student is under 21, one of the two proofs may be of the parent.